Sid’s Aki

I was going to wait until next week to write another blog, but I felt compelled to write about another Japanese artist that I really am liking and that’s the solo works of the bass player of the Japanese Rock band Sid named Aki. Aki’s music has been a breath of fresh air for me and the fact that his albums have so many different elements to it makes them fun to listen to. in 2015 he released a full length album called Arise then followed it up with a 7 song EP that same year called Ephemeral. I highly recommend both of those releases. To close out 2015 the live concert DVD A Feeling Begins to Arise was released and I definitely got that as well. One of the things I like about Aki’s music is that his lyrics are in both English and Japanese so even if you aren’t able to sing along to the Japanese parts you can still sing along to the English parts. All his releases are available at CD Japan.

I do feel a bit conflicted though and not sure if I can be considered a true fan of Aki’s because I struggle to get into his main band Sid. It’s not that they are a bad band, but more of a disconnect to the material, but when I listen to Aki’s solo material I feel more connected and relate to what his solo songs are talking about.

Here are some links to check out some of his solo work and gain more information on Aki.

Freak Show Music Video – https://youtu.be/3U7NqzxbEu8

Fairy Dust Music Video – https://youtu.be/TpAk_95iEDg

Official Website – http://www.dangercrue.com/AKi/

Sid Official Website – http://sid-web.info/pc_index.html

Leave a Reply

